Affiliate(s): Southwestern Social Science Association

The Southwestern Social Science Association recently announced the winners of our first ever Student Travel Grant Award program.  Ten SSSA student members were selected to receive grants of $300.  In spearheading the creation of the awards program, SSSA President Pascal Ngoboka said, “We shall endeavor to grow our membership from the grassroots, one student at a time.”

Those selected were:

Nicardo McInnis (Economics, Georgia State University)
Sarah Riva (History, University of Arkansas)
Mbuli Clodine (International Studies, University of Buea and University of Regina)
Hajer Al-Faham (Political Science, University of Pennsylvania)
Furkan Cakmak (Political Science, Washington State University)
Christopher Ponce (Social Work, Cal Poly Pomona)
Alonso Aravena Mendez (Sociology, Baylor University)
Annette Donald (Sociology, Westminster College)
Brennan Miller (Sociology, Kent State University)
Yeh Yu-Man (Women/Gender Studies, Graduate Institute of National Development, National Taiwan University)

Announcing the award recipients, selection committee chair and SSSA Vice President Israel Nandamudi said, “Congratulations to all the recipients of student travel grants! Hope this small gesture from the SSSA would be a catalyst for your research endeavors.  We look forward to your continued partnership in the future annual conferences as well.  Wish you all the very best!”

The award recipients will be recognized publicly during the Annual Meeting in San Diego.