SSSA Council

The SSSA Executive Committee consists of the Association’s officers and performs most of the day-to-day business of the Association. The SSSA Council consists of the officers plus one or two voting representatives from each of our disciplinary affiliates.

SSSA Executive Committee, 2024

Jennifer Horan

President of the Southwestern Social Science Association | University of North Carolina - Wilmington

Suvayan De

President-Elect | University of Charleston

Theresa Morris

Vice President | Texas A&M University

Anna Caney

Secretary | Florida Southern College | Term expires 2025

Craig Walker

Treasurer | Oklahoma Baptist University | Term expires 2027

Tracy Dietz

General Program Director | University of North Texas | Term expires 2025

Nicole Farris

Site Director | Texas A&M University - Commerce | Term expires 2026

Jeff Justice

Communications Director | South Texas College & University of Edinburgh | Term expires 2026

Keith Gåddie

Editor, Social Science Quarterly | Texas Christian University

Kirby Goidel

Editor, Social Science Quarterly | Texas A&M University

Steven Sewell

Past President | College of the Mainland

Salli Vargis

Past Past President | Georgia State University - Perimeter

Affiliate Representatives, 2024

Melaku Abegaz

President of the Southwestern Economics Association | University of Wisconsin - River Falls

Joseph Comeau

Sociology President-Elect | Georgia Southwestern State University

Shelly Lemons

President of the Southwesetern Historical Association | McKendree University

Scott Liebertz

President of the Southwestern Political Science Association | University of South Alabama

Richard Longoria

Political Science Vice President and Program Chair | University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Rachel Rayburn

President of the Southwestern Social Work Association | University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Jori Sechrist

President of the Southwestern Sociological Association | McMurry University

Sebahattin Ziyanak

President of the Southwestern International Studies Association | University of Texas Permian Basin