The Southwestern Historical Association (SWHA) is the History Affiliate of the Southwestern Social Sciences Association. SWHA meets each year during the SSSA Annual meeting. We accept papers and panels from all aspects of historical study. Scholars need not specialize in any particular regional or chronological period in order to participate. The SWHA sessions offer a positive atmosphere for feedback to scholars who are in graduate study, who are new to the field, and who are seasoned veterans. The SWHA awards paper prizes and welcomes student research presented through Phi Alpha Theta sessions at the annual meeting.

Current Officers

Shelly Lemons — 2017 President, Southwestern Historical Association
Associate Professor, History
McKendree University
701 College Road
Lebanon, IL 62220

Dr. Jeffery R. Hankins — 2017 Program Chair, History
Associate Professor of History
John D. Winter Endowed Professor of History
History Coordinator & Graduate Director
Louisiana Tech University
(318) 257-3344

Rowland Brucken — Area Coordinator, US/Canada
Professor of History
Norwich University
(802) 485-2362
(802) 485-2252 (fax)

Lopita Nath — Area Coordinator, Europe/Asia/Middle East
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of History
Coordinator, Asian Studies Program
University of the Incarnate Word, CPO#64
4301 Broadway, San Antonio, Texas 78209

Kalé Haywood — Area Coordinator, Latin America
Associate Professor of History and Chair
Allegheny College
520 North Main St.
Meadville, PA 16335
814.332.4306 (fax 814.332.2710)

Mark Mengerink — Area Coordinator, Phi Alpha Theta
Associate Professor
History Department
Lamar University
P.O. Box 10048
Beaumont, TX 77710
Phone: 409-880-7618
Fax: 409-880-8710

Alex d’Erizans — Secretary and Treasurer
Department of Social Sciences
Borough of Manhattan Community College (BMCC)
199 Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007