From our New Orleans 2024 Annual Meeting

Why come to our conference? We asked Josué Lopez, a Pascal Ngoboka Student Travel Grant Award winner to talk about the Annual Meeting.


Passing the gavel from 2024 SSSA President Steven Sewell to 2025 President Jennifer Horan

Presenting the SSSA Distinguished Service Award to Tracy Dietz

Tribute Panel to Joe Stewart

A special tribute panel took place in memory of SSSA President Joe Stewart.

Presidential Plenary Address

Our 2024 Presidential Plenary Address featured keynote speaker Dr Brian Hosmer, Professor of History at Oklahoma State University


Panels and Papers!

Pascal Ngoboka Student Travel Awards Recipients

The SSSA is pleased and proud to announce the recipients of our 2024 Pascal Ngoboka Student Travel Grants for the Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Each recipient will be recognized at the Presidential Plenary session during the Annual Meeting. Please join us in congratulating these fantastic young scholars!

  • Abigail Villarreal (Social Work, Texas A&M University – Kingsville)
  • Ashlie Mendoza (Social Work, University of Oklahoma)
  • Avarie Lambert (Political Science, University of South Alabama)
  • Brittany L. Santana (Social Work, Texas A&M University – Kingsville)
  • Christopher L-P Mathey (Sociology, Texas A&M University)
  • Essence Thomas (Social Work, Southern Arkansas University)
  • Gemini A. Creason-Parker (Sociology, Texas A&M University)
  • Isabella Bernard (Political Science, Southern Arkansas University)
  • Jaqueline Mendez (Sociology, Texas A&M University)
  • Joel Chavez (Political Science, Georgetown University)
  • Josué E. Lopez (Sociology, University of Texas at El Paso)
  • Karina Aguirre Torres (Social Work, University of Texas at El Paso)
  • Kate-Lynn George (Sociology, University of Arkansas)
  • Kaththiriarachchilage Don Naduni Kumari Jayasinghe (Sociology, Louisiana State University)
  • Natália Heringer Mendonça (Sociology, University of North Texas)
  • Neha Jangeti (Sociology, University of North Texas)
  • Nohelia Garcia Delos Santos (Sociology, Southern Arkansas University)
  • Penelope Norley (Social Work, University of Arkansas)
  • Tess Harrington (International Studies, Roanoke College)
  • Yara Green-Jordan (Social Work, Texas A&M University – Kingsville)